Save Green While Driving

This is a shout out to James' sweet new Yaris!

This is a shout out to James' sweet new Yaris!

I was watching T.V. the other day and I saw this ad for an ICBC commercial that talked about learning to drive smart and safe green. Guess what I thought, “this is perfect for my blog”! My life seems to revolve around this blog now, everything I see I go “Oooo I wonder if people would want to read about this”. If you are someone who is close to me, you have definitely had me call you and ask if I can read you one of postings before I put it online (…thank you for letting m…) My phone and email box has been going crazy with all the companies who want to showcase their green products, so look for articles on them in the near future!

Anyways, as far as this ICBC commercial goes, I will share with you a few simple and cost-effective ways to save gas and the environment.

Here are 10 tips directly from ICBC

Good tunes? A poorly maintained vehicle consumes up to 15 per cent more gas and produces even more greenhouse gas emissions. Keep up your vehicle’s regular maintenance schedule and save gas and money, reduce your long-term maintenance costs and lower your carbon emissions. A well-maintained vehicle is also safer and more reliable.

Junk in the trunk? You waste more fuel when you’re carrying extra weight. Even an extra 45 kg (100 lbs) can increase your fuel costs by two per cent. Take out unnecessary items and save gas and the environment.

Not cool. Air conditioning may keep you cool, but it can also waste gas. There is a simple solution. Minimize your use of air conditioning to improve your fuel efficiency. To stay cool, use your car’s flow-through ventilation when driving on the highway, and in the city, open a window.

Don’t be a drag. Roof racks are like suitcases. If you’re not using one, why carry it around? They create aerodynamic drag which increases your fuel consumption and carbon emissions. Reducing both can be as easy as taking off your roof rack.

Think small. Fuel consumption is different for every car. The choices you make today will either save you money or cost you for years to come. Larger vehicles are heavier and have more powerful engines, so consider buying the most fuel-efficient vehicle that meets your needs.

Slow down and save.
Besides being dangerous, speeding wastes gas and creates more carbon emissions. Driving under 90 km/h improves your fuel-efficiency, and also decreases your emissions. Driving 120 km/h in a 100 km/h zone wastes up to 20 per cent more fuel.

Are you a jackrabbit? Accelerating and braking hard is often called jackrabbiting. This leads to hundreds of crashes every year. It doesn’t save much time either. A European study found that jackrabbiting saved only 2 1/2 minutes on a 60-minute trip. However, fuel consumption increased by 37 per cent, and some toxic emissions were more than five times higher. Always accelerate smoothly from a stop, when passing, or merging on a highway.

Inflation is a good thing. Keep your tires inflated to the recommended pressure level. For every four PSI they’re under, your fuel consumption goes up by about two per cent. It may not seem like much, but it adds up over time. More than saving you money, properly inflated tires also last longer and are less likely to skid.

Plan to save. Why hit the road without knowing exactly where you’re going? Plan your trip ahead of time, combine errands, and try to avoid heavy traffic and road construction to save fuel and time.

Turn offs? When your car’s idling, you’re wasting gas and pumping out carbon emissions. Turn off your engine if you’re stopped for more than 60 seconds (unless you’re stopped in traffic, of course). It won’t hurt your ignition. And idling for more than 10 seconds wastes more fuel than it takes to restart.

There are few neat things you can do on this site:

1. Calculate you emissions and savings
It is a really neat quiz. The graphics are awesome, and all you have to know is the price of gas, your estimated kilometers per week, and your type of vehicle. From this, you can learn how to save money and the environment by driving smarter.

For example, I drive a small car around 200km a week, and gas is $0.90 a liter

The calculater adds up all the different ways I can save money and the environment. All these changes equal $257 and 655 kg of CO2. Impressive for just a few minor changes

2. Take a drive smart quiz and see how much you know

I would give you the links to these quizes but its a flash file so I can’t. To get to them, click here, and look for the blue boxes in the middle of your screen.

Last, is a FREE PRODUCT ALERT!

logo_chevronICBC has partnered up with Chevron and is offering a free pocket-size tire gauge for a limited time at participating Chevrons.

Let me know how easy it is to make these changes in your life. Also, if anyone has a picture of this tire gauge, send it to me, I would love to see how they look…and more importantly tell me how they work!

4 thoughts on “Save Green While Driving

  1. Hey Katelyn,

    Thanks for the ICBC tips on greener driving. I am surprised that they didn’t mention taking the highway whenever possible. I recently switched my route to work (to make it involve more highways) and although the travel distance is farther, I find I get more out of a tank of gas. Do you know of any reports regarding highway v. street travel. I know it’s been a fact for many years now that mpg are higher in highway driving, but i was wondering if you knew spec on the topic. Anyways, I will be sure to check my local chevron next time I fill up for the air gauge. Thanks for the info!

    Cheers,

    James

    • Hello James,

      Thanks for coming and checking out my blog, I am happy you found something that interests you! I should have definitely mentioned something about highway driving. The reason the highway saves you gas is because you are not constantly starting and stopping. On the highway you likely stick to a constant speed for a stretch of time, and that saves you gas (and saves your emissions). Also, the speed limits posted (usually 90-100km/hr) are actually saving you gas if you stick to them. As it said in the posting, driving over the 100km/hr speed limit equals 20% more fuel consumption. If you reduce your speed to 80km/hr you will actually save on average 10%. It might not seem like much at first, but it adds up! I am happy to hear you switched your routes to involve more highways, and didn’t just think about arriving sooner. Really this is just a myth, as it says in the article, for the average 60 minute city drive, you may only save 2.5 minutes, but you have consumed 37% more fuel. So in fact, with your new highway route, you are getting more from your tank of gas.

      I hope all this information helps you! Let me know how the tire gauge works. Send me a picture!!

      Kate

  2. Great tips. I don’t put much mileage on my vehicle …but I forgot about the drag on the rack. It’s a factory rack, I don’t think I can remove it. …no cross bars though, I figure that would be the worst source of drag.

Leave a Reply

